A Rustic Glam Winery Bachelorette Party

He liked her enough to put a ring on it, and I liked her enough to put some DIY on it. It was my duty and honor to help throw a bachelorette party for my dear friend Leah Jean. (More on this here and here.) I had the pleasure of decorating and styling for her last shebang as a single lady. We had a glorious day and everything went off without a hitch.

Good thing there was no smoking at the winery. I would have went up in flames due to the massive amounts of hairspray holding my giant bun in place. I think even Lady Gaga would have been jealous.

Check out some pictures from our table at Cedar Lake Cellars.  The winery was so beautiful and we totally lucked out on the weather. 65 and sunny 🙂 .  Hallelujah.

Here is the lovely rustic glam tablescape I created.

Here is a breakdown of my projects and how much I spent to create this lovely day for Leah.

Project Number 1: Cake Stands

2 flower pots: $1.79 each at Michael’s
2 flower pot drain plates: $3.99 each at Michael’s
1 can of gold spray paint: $3.67 at Wal-Mart
Cardboard cake round: already had (purchased a 10 pack at Michael’s for $5.49)

I spray painted each pot and plate with the gold spray paint. I then place the plate on top of the upside down pot. In order to keep things sanitary I put the cardboard cake round inside the clay plate. That is it. Super simple. I made to gold coated cake stands for $7.62 each.

Project Number 2: Brunch Bread

I was going to make cupcakes, but that just seemed to generic. Leah is unique and doesn’t like to follow the status quo. I figured making a festive fall brunch bread would be perfect for the occasion. I baked 2 loaves of apple pumpkin bread with a peanut butter glaze. It was absolutely delicious! I will post a recipe later this week. Keep an eye out. The great part about this recipe is that I already had everything on hand except for the can of pumpkin, which only cost me $1.00. Great success!

Project Number 3: Cake Topper

1 sheet of purple card stock: $0.49 at Michael’s
4 cake pop sticks: already had (purchased at Michael’s)

I used Word to make these cake toppers. I just inserted a banner shape and then inserted a text box inside of that. I adjusted it to be the size that I wanted and printed it on the purple card stock. After I cute the banners out, I hot glued the sticks to the back of each banner. 2 custom cake toppers for about $0.25 each. I can’t complain about that.

Project Number 4: Cork Letter

1 flat wood letter: $3.49 at Hobby Lobby
A whole bunch of wine corks: already had a collection

I used a hot glue gun to adhere about 75 corks to the wood letter. A custom monogram letter for 3.49! Yippee 🙂

Project Number 5: Gilded Pumpkins

1 bag of mini pumpkins: $4.00 from Wal-Mart
1 can of gold spray paint: already had

I wanted to glam up the traditional orange pumpkins. A coat of gold spay paint gave these little cuties the Midas touch.

Project Number 6: Cork Mason Jars

4 mason jars: already had
variety of corks: already had

This was a quick and easy space filler project. I put some extra corks in mason jars and scattered them around the table. It went with the theme and it was free! Winning!

Project Number 7: Wood Slab

1 wood slab: $4.19 from Michael’s (with 40% off coupon)
1 fine tip dark brown Sharpie: $1.59 from Michael’s

First, I cut a heart out of scrap paper and traced it onto the wood slab. I then free-handed the initials of Colby and Leah and their wedding date. I made this cute one of a kind piece of rustic art for $5.78.

Project Number 8: Mini Flower Pots

16 mini clay pots: $0.59 each at Michael’s
1 can of gold spray paint: already had
1 bundle of pink yarn: $3.29 at Michael’s
1 bunch of faux mums: $1.50 at Michael’s (with 50% off)

I initially planned on using moss in the little clay pots, but it was much more expensive than I thought and it didn’t really go with the color scheme. While wandering the store, inspiration struck. I saw they light pink bundle of yarn and thought it would be a perfect fluffy bead for a mum bud. I really like the way it turned out. I made 16 mini flower pots for about $0.90 each.

Project Number 9: Wine Glasses

16 wine glasses: $0.97 each at Wal-Mart
1 white glass paint pen: $1.83 at Michael’s (with 20% off coupon)
1 pack of chalkboard decals: $5.39 at Michael’s (with 20% off coupon)
2 pieces of pink cardstock: $0.59 at Michael’s
Twine: already had

I started off this project by painting lip prints onto the glasses. I found a lip print that I liked online, printed it off, and taped it to the inside of the wine glass. I then traced it and filled it in using the white paint pen. Next, I wrote guest’s names on the chalkboard decals using the same paint pen. You can obviously use chalk, but I didn’t want them to be removable. I applied the decal to the opposite side of the glass from the lips. On the base of the glass I wrote the wedding date. I also added little “Drink Me” tags around the stem of each glass. I printed the tags from Word, punched a whole in each, and used twine to tie them to the stem of the glass. I would classify $1.46 per personalized wineglass as a success.

I also placed white hydrangeas in Mason jars around the table. I got the fresh flowers from Whole Foods for $10 for 4 stems and I already had the mason jars on hand. For good luck I scattered old horse shoes I found at a flea market. 4 horse shoes for $5.

The total cost of designing this DIY  rustic glam winery tablescape was a modest $66.42.

What cute Kate Spade earrings Leah has on. The little cuties are courtesy of me 🙂 . They were too precious to resist.

Me and the beautiful bride 🙂 .

Gabbi, the maid of honor, looking glamorous.

Leah and her bridesmaids on a gorgeous afternoon.

We are just glowing with happiness. I am ecstatic for Leah and her upcoming nuptials. November 2nd is going to be a beautiful day filled with love. I can’t wait to stand by her side while she marries Colby.

 

2 thoughts on “A Rustic Glam Winery Bachelorette Party

  1. Pingback: Apple Pumpkin Bread | Aviary

  2. Pingback: High Five For Friday | Aviary

Leave a Reply

