Matt’s Birthday Cake

Massive. Moist. Messy.

Seriously, this is the best chocolate cake I have ever made and the best I have ever tasted.

Matt was super lucky this year in the fact that his birthday fell on a Wednesday. I totally enjoy birthdays and I tend to make a big deal out of them, but this year, Matt had a full on birthday WEEK! We went to his parents house the Saturday after his birthday for a little family time. I volunteered to bring the cake, so I got to try this masterpiece I have been drooling over for a while.

I found the recipe from Baked Bree. I can’t decide what the best part about the cake is, but my favorite part is that it has a layer of peanut butter filling. This cake is so awesome on so many levels. Please make it. Your family will love you. You will love the cake.

Mix the dry ingredients in a large bowl.

Combine the wet ingredients and add them to the dry mixture.

Pour in the secret, recipe making ingredient; fresh brewed coffee.

After baking the cakes, let them cool completely.

Tip 1: Wrap a soaking wet towel around each cake pan when you bake it. It will help the cakes bake evenly so they will be flat. You wont have to mess around with cutting off the top. They also sell, these bake even strips, but I am all about the free version. 

Tip 2: When letting your cakes cool, place a piece of bread on each one. This keeps the cake moist. The bread goes stale, but not the cake. Awesome! I am not sure how or why this works, but it totally does. I first learned this trick in college from my roommate, who always put bread in Tupperware with cookies. You can use this trick with any baked goods. Totally genius. 

I don’t think I have ever wanted to lick a bowl so much in my life.

Peanut butter and chocolate, what a beautiful marriage.

Tip 3: Back in my cake decorating classes in 5th grade, I remember leaning about the crumb coat; The most important and most overlooked step of frosting a cake. The key is to work with a cool cake and room temperature frosting. This is a light coat of frosting that is meant to seal in all the ugly crumbs that you don’t want to see on your cake. Smooth on the crumb coat and then refrigerate for 30-60 minutes. Do this. You will thank me. 

After the crumb coat I put on heaps of the frosting. I used an offset spatula to spread the final layer around. To then create the messy look, I used the back of a metal spoon in a swirly twrily motion. Its meant to look messy. You can’t do it wrong.

Tip 4: Frosting is like glue. Use it to keep your cake where you want it. I had to transport the cake in the car for 1.5 hours. First I taped the cardboard circle to cake carrier. Then I took a spoonful of leftover frosting and spread it on the cardboard. This would hold the cake in place and keep it from sliding around during the drive.

I used a Wilton cake lifter to move the cake from where I assembled and frosted it, to the cake carrier.

All secure and ready for a car ride.

Here is the only picture I got of the cross section of the cake. Sometimes we get so excited to eat it, that pictures don’t really happen. Luckily, we got to take the leftovers back home to our place so I had a few seconds to snap this pic before it was gobbled up.

Make this cake for an occasion or just make any day special by giving your loved ones this cocholatey, peanut buttery, cake. If you have any questions let me know! I am happy to help!

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cake with Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

Prep Time:60 minutes (note including cooling time) Cook Time:  30-40 minutes Yield: 12 Slices

Ingredients:

Cake

1 3/4 cups flour
2 cups sugar
3/4 cups cocoa
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 eggs, room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup freshly brewed hot coffee

Filling

1 cup heavy whipping cream
3/4 cup smooth peanut butter
2 oz. cream cheese
1/2 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla

Frosting

2 sticks of room temperature butter
2 1/2 cups confectioners sugar
6 oz melted chocolate chips
1 teaspoon vanilla
2-3 tablespoons heavy cream

Instructions:
  1. In a large bowl mix together all the dry cake ingredients.
  2. Combine the buttermilk, oil, eggs and vanilla. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and whisk together.
  3. Whisk the hot coffee into the cake batter.
  4. Pour the batter into two greased circle cake pans.
  5. Bake the cakes at 350 degrees fro 30-40 minutes. Be sure to check with a toothpick. Do not let them over cook. Nobody wants a dry cake.
  6. Cool the cakes in the pans for 30 minutes, then transfer to cooling racks to cool completely.
  7. While the cakes are cooling in the pans, start the peanut butter filling. Whip the heavy cream until soft peaks form, then set aside.
  8. Cream together the peanut butter, cream cheese and sugar and add the vanilla.
  9. Whisk the whipped cream into the peanut butter mixture.
  10. Place the peanut butter filling in the fridge while the cakes cool completely.
  11. When the cakes are cool, plop generous amounts of filling onto one of the cakes. Spread around to completely cover the top of one chocolate cake.
  12. Place the second cake on top of the filling layer on the base cake. Place the stacked beauty into the fridge to cool overnight.
  13. To make the frosting, cream butter and sugar together.
  14. Pour in the melted and cooled chocolate and mix.
  15. Add the vanilla. Pour in just enough heavy cream to get your desired spreading consistency.
  16. Frost your cake and dig in!

 

Leave a Reply

