Chocolate Chunk Monster Cookies

The man I live with love cookies. More specifically, chocolate chip cookies. I have tried many, many cookie recipes trying to find the best and I think I have found it. It was a quite a bit of work, but the pay out was worth it. The cookies are HUGE, hence the “monster” in the name. They also turned me into a bit of a cookie monster. I didn’t want to stop eating these ooey gooey chocolatey cookies.

I found this delicious recipe from Bakerella and despite the time and work, you will want to make this just like I did. seriously though, the dough is filled with these!

You can find the original recipe here: Jacques Torres’ Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe, but I am going to break it down for you a bit and let you go through my experience with me. I hate it when recipes make it all seem so simple, I find myself second guessing a lot wondering if what I am doing is correct. I’m all about being real here.

First make sure you have all the correct ingredients.

The chocolate wafers will be the hardest to find. Bakerella said you could order from Jacques but that requires a lot of advance planning. She also said that she got hers from Williams-Sanoma, so I made the pilgrimage, bit the bullet, and paid over $30 for chocolate. The major bummer was that the William-Sonoma near me didn’t have chocolate wafers; they only had little chocolate  chunks. Not at all what I was going for, but I bought them anyway just in case.

I then went to Whole Foods hoping to find chocolate wafers that Jacques’ recipe also mentions (Valrhona fèves, oval-shaped chocolate pieces). No dice. Boooo! I was getting frustrated. Instead of using wafers, I came up with an alternative. I bought chocolate bars with 45% cacao instead of  60%. I like my chocolate sweeter anyway. Perfect, I would just cut the bar into cubes to use them in the recipe. They would be way bigger then average chocolate chips, hence the appeal.

After my shopping excursion, I began the process of making the cookies. I tried to cut the bars of chocolate on the lines, but I failed. Cutting it just snapped the bar in weird spots. Again, not what I was going for. I abandoned the cutting method and just decided to break the bars of chocolate along the lines. That worked way better.

I followed all the instructions and let me tell you, you better hope you have a stand mixer. I only have a hand mixer and that thing was fighting for its life. It was like cutting down a giant redwood with a hand axe. The dough was super thick. I eventually resorted to kneading it like bread. This was necessary in order to get all of the chocolate chunks incorporated. Seriously. Here is a picture some before pictures of the process before I wrapped it up to let it refrigerate for 24 hours.

Matt even got in on the action. My arms were wearing out and I needed some more muscle in the kitchen.

The massive ball of dough almost the size of my head.

Here it is in brick form. I told you it was a big ole thing.

Only 6 on a tray! Leave room for the monsters to grow.

Hello, sea salt! Sweet and salty, my favorite combo.

Fresh out of the oven.

So proud of the cookies!

Yummy, melty chocolate deliciousness.

Chocolate Chunk Monster Cookies (adapted from Jacques Torres’ Chocolate Chip Cookies)
Prep Time: 45 minutes (refrigerate 24 hours) Cook Time: 18-20 minutes Yield: 24 cookies

Ingredients:

2 cups minus to 2 tablespoons Cake flour
1 2/3 cup Bread flour
1 1/4 teaspoon Baking soda
1 1/2 teaspoon Baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoon Coarse sea salt
1 1/4 cups (2 1/2 butter) Unsalted butter
1 1/4 cups Light brown sugar
1 cups plus 2 tablespoons Granulated sugar
2 Large eggs
2 teaspoon Natural vanilla extract
21 ounces semisweet chocolate (45% cacao content)
Sea salt for garnish

Instructions:
  1. Sift flours, baking soda, baking powder and salt into a bowl. Set aside.
  2. Using a mixer fitted with paddle attachment, cream butter and sugars together until very light, about 5 minutes.
  3. Add eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition. Stir in the vanilla. Reduce speed to low, add dry ingredients and mix until just combined, 5 to 10 seconds.
  4. Drop chocolate pieces in and incorporate them without breaking them. Kneeding and using your hands will work best for this
  5. Form the dough into a ball or brink and wrap in plastic wrap. Refrigerate for at least 24 hours. Dough may be used in batches, and can be refrigerated for up to 72 hours.
  6. When ready to bake, pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a non-stick baking mat (I  used wax paper). Set aside.
  7. Cut the brick into slices about 1/2 inch thick. Then cut each slice into thirds. Mold each individual section into a generous sized golf ball. Place 6 dough balls on a cookie sheet. Sprinkle lightly with sea salt and bake until golden brown but still soft, 18 to 20 minutes. Transfer sheet to a wire rack for 10 minutes, then slip cookies onto another rack to cool a bit more. Repeat with remaining dough, or reserve dough, refrigerated, for baking remaining batches the next day.
  8. Eat warm, with a big napkin.
One thought on “Chocolate Chunk Monster Cookies

  1. Pingback: High Five for Friday | Aviary

Leave a Reply

