Fall is Here!

September 22nd was officially the first day of fall. In St. Louis we definitely lucked out with the weather and had a beautiful day! Matt and I decided not not waste to sunny 70 degree Saturday.

We headed out to Forest Park to wander around. It was a perfect day for a stroll. It just so happened that the parking spot we found was right in front of the Boathouse. We decided to rent a paddle boat and cruise around the park. We had such a great time! It was also quite the workout.

That afternoon we headed over to Illinois to meet up with Lauren and Jesse at Eckert’s Farm. I grew up picking apples and pumpkins at a farm in Wisconsin, so I was ecstatic to continue the tradition.

With all the fresh hand picked apples we brought home, I got to baking. Everybody has their own version of fried dough; from churros, to elephant ears, and beignets. I decided to make my own Midwestern version of fried deliciousness. I spotted this apple fritter recipe from Lauren at From My Grey Desk Blog. I made a few adjustments to make it my own and I wanted to share it here. I know my mom was excited to see this.

Ingredients:
1 beaten egg
1 cup milk
1 cup finely chipped or grated peeled apple (I used a food processor to make it easier)
1/4 cup white sugar
2 tbsp brown sugar
1/2 tsp salt
3 tbsp orange juice
1/2 tsp vanilla
2 cups whole wheat flour
1 tbsp baking powder
dash of cinnamon
vegetable oil (for frying)
Directions:
1. Heat your oil to approximately 350 degrees on the stove top. (I don’t have a food thermometer so I had no idea how hot my oil was. It was a trial and error process. I figured out that the 2.5 setting on my gas stove, worked perfectly.)
2. In a large mixing bowl combine beaten egg, milk, chopped/grated apple, both sugars, salt, cinnamon, OJ, and vanilla
3. Stir together flour and baking powder in a separate bowl.
4. Fold dry mixture into wet mixture. Do not over-mix; just until combined.
5. Drop teaspoons of batter into hot oil. Fry until deep golden brown, about  3-4 minutes turning once (usually, they turn themselves)
6. Place the fritters on a cooling rack with tin foil beneath to let some of the oil drain out.
Here are the first two that I tried. I failed. I burnt these little puppies. The oil was way too hot on the first try. The outside was burned right away the the middle was still raw. I adjusted my oil setting and tried again. Luckily, moving forward was a success.
7. Once cooled a bit, roll in cinnamon & sugar and place on a plate or in a bowl
Enjoy this gem of a recipe and enjoy your fall!
One thought on “Fall is Here!

  1. Pingback: Salted Caramel Dutch Apple Bars | Aviary

Leave a Reply

