Skinnygirl Margarita Cheesecake

I have been eagerly dreaming of the day that I finally got the chance to make this cake. My sister made a version of it one year ago and ever since she texted me a picture of it, I have been waiting for a special occasion to make it. Matt’s sister’s college graduation party, which happened to fall on Cinco de Mayo, was the perfect time for me to try this baby out.

The original recipe was from the May/June 2011 issue of Cook’s Country. Just reading it made my pants feel a bit tighter, so I took the liberty of slimming it down a bit. I used low-fat and non-fat ingredients. I also replaced tequila and Triple Sec with the much more figure friendly Skinnygirl Margarita. That also allowed for me to cut back on the super sugary canned margarita mix. Lastly, I sliced the cheesecake into 16 slices instead of 10. They were still good-sized pieces and nobody was complaining.

  • List of ingredients from Cook’s Country (Serves 8-10)
  • 1 cup sweetened shredded coconut
  • 1 teaspoon grated lime zest plus 1 lime, sliced thin
  • 3 cups pretzel sticks
  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 4 teaspoons unflavored gelatin
  • 1 (10 ounce) can frozen margarita mix, thawed
  • 1/4 cup tequila
  • 1/4 cup Triple Sec
  • 1 1/2 cups heavy cream, chilled
  • 1 (14-ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
  • 4 ounces cream cheese, softened

List of ingredients from Cook’s Country I used (Serves 8-10 16)

  • 1 3/4 cup sweetened shredded coconut
  • 1 teaspoon grated lime zested plus 1 lime, sliced thin
  • 3 cups pretzel sticks
  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter light margarinemelted
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 4 teaspoons unflavored gelatin
  • 1 (10 ounce) can 1/2 cup frozen margarita mix, thawed
  • 1/4 cup tequila
  • 1/4 cup Triple Sec
  • 1 1/4 cup Skinnygirl Margarita
  • 4 packets of Splenda
  • 1 1/2 cups heavy cream, chilled
  • 1 (14-ounce) can non-fat sweetened condensed milk
  • 4 ounces low-fat cream cheese, softened

Here is a picture of the finished product. (Side note: I need new knives. My three college grade knives really aren’t cutting it anymore. *pun intended. They are ready to be retired. As you can see, I/Matt could barely cut through the limes, hence the jagged, uneven slices. My apologies.)

Sorry there are no pictures of the cross-section. I was busy with my Cinco de Drinko festivities and the pieces were all gobbled up before I got a slice.

So unfortunately, I didn’t get to try my own cake, but luckily everybody gave me great feedback. It was the perfect amount of sweetness. You could taste the booze, but it wasn’t like taking a straight tequila shot. People LOVED the pretzel and coconut crust. I gladly kept the secret of the low-fat substitutions and let people rave on about how tasty it was.

I might try this again with another variation. I am thinking about turning this cheesecake into a light and airy mouse by using Cool Whip instead of heavy whipping cream. If I give it a shot, I will be sure to share the results.

Overall, I would say this Skinnygirl Margarita Cheesecake was a total hit. I can’t wait to make it again! Maybe I will even get a piece this time.  🙂


Leave a Reply

